National Minimum Wage Committee: Ama Pepple and Others Appointed By Buhari

Image result for nigeria federal government

President Muhammadu Buhari has finally approved the appointment of a thirty-member tripartite National Minimum Wage Committee for the negotiation of a new National Minimum Wage for the Country.

In a statement released late Thursday night, and signed by the Deputy Director in the Federal Ministry of Labour, Prince Samuel Olowookere, Ama Pepple is named as the Chairman of the Tripartite National Minimum Wage Committee.

The Minister of Labour and Employment, Senator Chris Ngige, will serve as the Deputy Chairman, while the Chairman, National Salaries, Income, and Wages Commission, Chief Richard Egbule, will serve as the Secretary of the committee.

According to Olowookere, “by its tripartite nature, the committee is made up of persons from the public sector, (Federal and State Governments) and the private sector made up of the largest private employer group, the Nigeria Employers Consultative Association (NECA), Manufacturers Association of Nigeria (MAN), Nigerian Association of Chambers of Commerce Industry Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) and Nigerian Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME).”

Other members of the committee are: Udo Udo Udoma , Minister, Budget and Planning; Mrs. Kemi Adeosun , Minister, Finance; Mrs. Winifred E. Oyo – Ita ; Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; and Dr. Roy Ugo – Permanent Secretary, General Services Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation

To represent the Nigeria Governors’ Forum (NGF) are Governor Rauf Aregbesola – Osun State (South West); Governor Rochas Okorocha – Imo State (South-East); Governor Hassan Dankwambo – Gombe State (South East); Governor Nyesom Wike – Rivers State (South-South); Governor Simon Lalong – Plateau State (North Central); Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu – Kebbi State (North West); while A.. B. Okauru, Esq., Director General (DG,) NGF will serve as observer.

The Trade Union Side will be represented by Comrade Ayuba Wabba, the President, Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC), Peters Adeyemi – NLC, Kiri Mohammed – NLC, Amechi Asugwuni – NLC, Dr. Peter Ozo-Eson – NLC.

Others from the Labour side are: Comrade Bobboi Bala Kaigama – President, Trade Union Congress TUC), Sunday Olusoji Salako – TUC, Alade Bashir Lawal TUC,
and Igwe Achese, the President, Nigeria Union of Petroleum and Natural Gas Workers (NUPENG)

From the Employers’ Side are: Mr. Olusegun Oshinowo – Director General, Nigeria Employers’ Consultative Association (NECA), Timothy Olawale – NECA, Chuma Nwankwo – NECA, Mrs. Olubunmi Adekoje – Director General, Federation of Construction Industry (FOCI), Alhaji Ahmed Ladan Gobir , Chairman, Kaduna East Branch, Manufacturers’ Association (MAN), Otunba Francis Oluwagbenro – MAN, Hajia Muheeba Dankaka, President, Kano Chambers of Commerce, Industry, Mines and Agriculture (NACCIMA) and Prince Degun Agboade President, Nigeria Association of Small and Medium Enterprises (NASME) .

The Committee will be inaugurated on Monday 27th November 2017 at the Council Chambers, Aso Rock Presidential Villa, State House abuja